Dwayne Aalseth

Dwayne Aalseth

Once again this year’s EMS Parade of Lights was a success. On Monday a couple of days before the parade, we met with Governor Beebe which was a great time as usual. Governor Beebe told us how impressed he was with Arkansas EMS, and that he brags on us every chance he gets. He then signed the proclamation to make EMS week official, and then took pictures with everyone present.

Then on Wednesday was the Parade itself, with the lineup at War Memorial Stadium. At the lineup we had several ambulances, fire apparatus, and POV’s. With the LRPD motorcycle units escorting the parade, everyone traveled lights and sirens through the streets of Little Rock to the Capital. Once at the Capital we had a great program presentation that included key note speaker, Trauma Section Chief Bill Temple. During the program the AEMTA announced the 2013 Hall of Fame inductees; Janie Kennedy and KC Jones.

Next we moved to the Section of EMS for a reception with great food, fun and fellowship. EMS Section Chief Greg Brown gave a presentation as to his vision of the Hall of Fame area. Attendees went home with several door prizes and giveaways. Afterwards the Governor’s Advisory Council (GAC) met giving all attendees a vision of the future of EMS in Arkansas.

If you didn’t get a chance to join us this year, go ahead start planning for next year now. EMS Week is always the 3rd week in May, with the Parade of Lights being on Wednesday. Come show your EMS Pride at your Parade of Lights during EMS Week in 2014… See you there!

In the meantime, be sure to check out the Parade of Lights photo gallery after the jump…