11 EMS professionals honored at State Capitol

2009 Stars of Life<br />(click to enlarge)

2009 Stars of Life(click to enlarge)

Recently, the Arkansas Ambulance Association held its fifth annual “Stars of Life” celebration in Little Rock.  “Stars of Life” is a special recognition program conducted by the Arkansas Ambulance Association in cooperation with the American Ambulance Association. On Thursday, February 26, 2009, eleven individuals from across the state gathered in Little Rock for a day of activities designed to recognize their heroic and commendable actions as part of the emergency medical services (EMS) system. Each “Star” was recognized in a ceremony held at the State Capitol. Honorees and their sponsors spent the day learning more about the state’s EMS system, visiting with key stakeholders, industry leaders, and law makers. The Stars were introduced and honored at a luncheon and returned to the Capitol where they were introduced in both the Senate and House Chambers. NAEMT National President Pat Moore also attended the luncheon.

The 2009 Stars of Life honorees include:

  • Tonia Hale (NorthStar EMS)
  • Mary Harkness (LifeNet)
  • John David Windham (ProMed Ambulance)
  • Josh Kuykendall (Central EMS)
  • Chris McKnight (ProMed Ambulance)
  • Robert Galligher (Vital Link)
  • Faith Armstrong (Columbia Co. Ambulance)
  • Ed Moore (Med-Tech EMS)
  • Lee Coffman (Yell Co. EMS)
  • Robbi Francis (Vital Link)
  • Latisha Johnson (MEMS)

The 2009 overall Arkansas Star of Life is Mr. Robert Galligher.

The Stars of Life program is designed to raise awareness as to the value of emergency medical services (EMS) and to educate state leaders and others on the importance of strengthening the public safety net.

For more information on this and other ArAA programs, visit www.aaaintouch.com