Awarded prestigious Rocco V. Morando Lifetime Achievement Award

The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) has presented its 2008 Rocco V. Morando Lifetime Achievement Award, which is sponsored by the National Registry of EMTs, to Kenneth J. Bouvier of New Orleans, La.

Bouvier received his award at the NAEMT General Membership Meeting and Awards Presentation on October 14, 2008, in Las Vegas.

Beginning his EMS career in 1974 at the Westwego, La., and Volunteer Fire Department where he still finds time to volunteer, Bouvier currently serves as the fire chief for Monsanto Company in Luling, La., and is the administrative liaison for New Orleans EMS.

He is a member and former board member of the Louisiana Association of Nationally Registered Emergency Medical Technicians as well as a former president of NAEMT. Previously, Bouvier received the 1989 National EMT of the Year Award, also presented by NAEMT.

Bouvier’s extensive educational background in emergency response includes attending Louisiana State University, Texas A&M University, Florida State Fire College and the National Fire Academy. He serves on the advisory board of EMS Magazine and has written many articles for EMS and fire service publications. He is recognized nationally and internationally as a professional EMS speaker. He is a contributor to 10 textbooks and has authored several training videos.

The Rocco V. Morando Lifetime Achievement Award is named after Rocco V. Morando, a pioneer in EMS and one of the founding fathers of NAEMT. This is the most prestigious award presented by NAEMT.

Formed in 1975 and today nearly 25,000 members strong, NAEMT is the nation’s only organization solely dedicated to representing the professional interests of EMS practitioners, including paramedics, emergency medical technicians, first responders and other professionals working in pre-hospital emergency medicine. NAEMT members work in all sectors of EMS, including government service agencies, fire departments, hospital-based ambulance services, private companies, industrial and special operations settings, and in the military.

Each year, NAEMT recognizes excellence in various areas of prehospital medical care with the presentation of individual and organizational achievement awards. These awards honor America’s EMS practitioners and organizations that demonstrate exceptional leadership within the profession and outstanding commitment to prehospital medical care. For more information, visit the NAEMT web site at