The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) presented its annual awards at the NAEMT General Membership Meeting and Awards Presentation on October 14, 2008, in Las Vegas.

Kim Hall, EMT-B, of Center Ridge, Ark. received the Robert E. Motley EMT of the Year, sponsored by JEMS Communications.

Steven Ray Huffine, NREMT-P, of Hardy, Ark. received the Asmund S. Laerdal Award for Excellence –
EMT-Paramedic of the Year, sponsored by Laerdal Medical Corporation.

Formed in 1975 and today nearly 25,000 members strong, NAEMT is the nation’s only organization solely dedicated to representing the professional interests of EMS practitioners, including paramedics, emergency medical technicians, first responders and other professionals working in pre-hospital emergency medicine. NAEMT members work in all sectors of EMS, including government service agencies, fire departments, hospital-based ambulance services, private companies, industrial and special operations settings, and in
the military.

Each year, NAEMT recognizes excellence in various areas of prehospital medical care with the presentation of individual and organizational achievement awards. These awards honor America’s EMS practitioners and organizations that demonstrate exceptional leadership within the profession and outstanding commitment to prehospital medical care. For more information, visit the NAEMT web site at