Kim Hall receives EMT of the Year Award

Kim Hall receives EMT of the Year Award

The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) has presented its 2008 Robert E. Motley EMT of the Year Award to Kim Hall, EMT-B, of Center Ridge, Ark. This award, which recognizes an EMT who has made a significant contribution to the EMS community, is sponsored by JEMS Communications.

Hall received her award at the NAEMT General Membership Meeting and Awards Presentation on October 14 in Las Vegas. Hall is the EMS training officer-elect for the Center Ridge Volunteer Fire Department.
She has been an EMS practitioner for the last five years. “Every patient is treated as if they were a part of her family,” wrote Laura Guthrie of the Arkansas EMT Association in her nomination letter. “She is easily able to relay facts to the medical professionals she interacts with each day. Due to her expansive knowledge and
ability to answer each an every question to those that she interacts with, she is quite respected within the medical community as well as the community in which she lives and works.”

“Throughout the past seven months, Conway County, Arkansas, has experienced five federal and state disaster declarations due to severe tornadoes and flooding,” wrote Brandon Baker, director of the Conway County Office of Emergency Management, in his recommendation letter. “Kim Hall has shown repeatedly, exceptional skills in lifesaving patient care during these horrific events and has never failed to provide anything less than the highest level of emergency medical care possible.”

In addition to her regular duties, Hall organized “The Brain Train” to create continuing education opportunities for EMS practitioners in her area. She conducts community outreach presentations on stroke for local senior centers and provides uncompensated refresher courses for local fire departments.

Formed in 1975 and today nearly 25,000 members strong, NAEMT is the nation’s only organization solely dedicated to representing the professional interests of EMS practitioners, including paramedics, emergency medical technicians, first responders and other professionals working in pre-hospital emergency medicine. NAEMT members work in all sectors of EMS, including government service agencies, fire departments, hospital-based ambulance services, private companies, industrial and special operations settings, and in
the military.

Each year, NAEMT recognizes excellence in various areas of prehospital medical care with the presentation of individual and organizational achievement awards. These awards honor America’s EMS practitioners and organizations that demonstrate exceptional leadership within the profession and outstanding commitment to prehospital medical care. For more information, visit the NAEMT web site at