Steven Huffline (left) receives Award for Excellence.

The National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) has named Steven Ray Huffine of Hardy, Ark., as its 2008 recipient of the Asmund S. Laerdal Award for Excellence — EMT-Paramedic of the Year. This award, which recognizes a paramedic who has made a significant contribution to the EMS community, is sponsored by Laerdal Medical Corp.

Huffine received his award at the NAEMT General Membership Meeting and Awards Presentation on October 14, 2008, in Las Vegas. Huffine is a flight paramedic with Air Evac Lifeteam in Vilonia, Ark. He has worked as
an EMS practitioner since 1988.

“Steve knows all our protocols and can always be counted on to follow those protocols to the letter,” wrote Air Evac Lifeteam Medical Director Timothy W. Collicott, MD, in his recommendation letter. “When a protocol just doesn’t cover the situation, he has an uncanny ability to work through the situation and deliver excellent patient care.” Huffine’s former EMS partner, Kenneth W. Luff II, EMT-A, stated, “If I could define
mentor, his name would be the first in mind. Steven is literally a walking, talking, interactive, perfect paramedic!”

In addition to his duties as a flight paramedic, Huffine has presented on EMS for local community groups, schools and churches.

He was recognized with the Igor Sikorsky Award for Humanitarian Service from the Helicopter Association International for helping to evacuate patients from New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina. In 2007, Huffine was named Arkansas EMT Association Paramedic of the Year.

Formed in 1975 and today nearly 25,000 members strong, NAEMT is the nation’s only organization solely dedicated to representing the professional interests of EMS practitioners, including paramedics, emergency medical technicians, first responders and other professionals working in pre-hospital emergency medicine. NAEMT members work in all sectors of EMS, including government service agencies, fire departments, hospital-based ambulance services, private companies, industrial and special operations settings, and in
the military.

Each year, NAEMT recognizes excellence in various areas of prehospital medical care with the presentation of individual and organizational achievement awards. These awards honor America’s EMS practitioners and organizations that demonstrate exceptional leadership within the profession and outstanding commitment to prehospital medical care. For more information, visit the NAEMT web site at